Vibha Dhawan

Vibha Dhawan

Senior Director



Dr Vibha Dhawan is associated with The Energy and Resources and Institute for over 30 years. At present she is Distinguished Fellow and Senior Director (New Initiatives and Programs). She has also completed one term as Vice-Chancellor, TERI University. 

Dr Dhawan is actively involved in research as well as policy development, both at the national and international level. She is task force member of a number of committees of the DBT, BCIL, BIRAC, etc.  Dr Dhawan as a researcher was instrumental in the establishment of the Micropropagation Technology Park at TERI, a very highly successful initiative. 

She was an Advisor, Bio-resources & Biotechnology to the Chief Minister of Assam. She is also serving as Adjunct Professor, Consul General  South Asia Partnership,Michigan State University and Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India. She has recently completed a notable international assignment like Consultant to USAID for setting up of Tissue Culture Lab in Afghanistan; and Deputy Director (Research Partnerships & Co-ordination), Borlaug Institute for South Asia. AT BISA, she gained the experience of managing large farms and developing sustainable agriculture technologies. Her other major achievements besides developing e-post graduate delopment for University Grants Commission, Government of India are Member, National Certification System for Tissue Culture Raised Plants, Government of India; Conceptualization and Coordination, Project Monitoring Unit, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India – Mission for North-East India for Quality Planting Material; Instrumental in bringing awareness about natural resources among the school children in 650 selected schools in North Eastern India; Collaboration on Insect Management in Cabbage and Cauliflower - unique example of new model for public- private partnership. She has many awards to her credits few of them are The best individual scientist, All India Biotech Association – 1998; Biotech Product and Process Development and Commercialization Award, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India – 2000; International Women Leadership Agriculture Award 2016.

Keep me informed